Homemade Pill Pockets! 

So… Boomer.  He’s almost 5 years old, and I swear, he has hardly mellowed out from his puppy years.  Which really isn’t too terrible, I like that he’s active and playful, the problem is that he also has a VERY strong case of separation anxiety.  I can’t even count how many bowls and lids of our Tupperware set he’s chewed through.  Or the amount of times I’ve mopped the kitchen because of his accidents when we are all gone.  (And it’s not usually the number one accident, typically it’s number two).  Not to mention the constant howling, jumping, and barking when we’re gone too.  Now that we live in an apartment and no longer have a playmate for him, his howling and separation anxiety has gotten to the point where I’m pretty much at my wits end.  So, at the end of March, I took Boomer to the vet in town.  I explained everything to the exceptional ladies there, and we went home with basically puppy Prozac.  Haha.  My dog is a head case.  Anyways, finding things to put his pills in started to wind down, and I’m not comfortable giving him bread and other human food all the time.  And the regular pill pockets at the store are just too dang spendy for me to justify buying.  So, as I was on my walk today with Boomer and my little man David, a thought crossed my mind. 

 “I could make my own pill pockets!  I have old fashioned oats, and some peanut butter (I used PB2 mixed with water).  I could mix them together and roll little balls, like I was making cookies, and put the pill inside!!” 

When I got home, I made sure that oatmeal was okay for dogs, and I already know lots of people who give their dogs peanut butter.  And went to work.  It literally took me five minutes to mix the ingredients together and form balls with the pill inside.  I froze them for about 15 minutes because they got super sticky and I don’t want them to stick together if I can help it, and I tried it out.  I gave boomer one, and HE LOVED IT.  He didn’t spit it out, I don’t even think he chewed it really.  But I am so excited about this, I HAD to share 🙂  


My little man holding the leash as we walk.    
I mixed about four tablespoons of peanut butter (four tablespoons of PB2, and 2 tablespoons of water) and had quite a bit of the mixture left over.     

These are only about the size of a nickel.  (Sorry the photo is so dark!).  

Anyways, I’m pretty excited about these haha 🙂

Homemade Pill Pockets! 

Leave a comment